Fruitful Deliberations at KMPUs Karatina Event

Fruitful Deliberations at KMPUs Karatina Event

The second roll-out of the KIPPRA Mentorship Programme for Universities (KMPUs) took place at Karatina University on 22nd November 2018. The aim of the event was to sensitize university students on public policy and their role in the policy making process.

Themed “Public policy process and the Big Four Agenda”, the event involved keynote speeches by the chief guests; the signing of an MoU between the two institutions; presentations by KIPPRA and representatives from the Kenya Vision 2030 Delivery Secretariat and the Youth Enterprise Fund; panel discussions by students; and a plenary involving a question and answer session.

In his speech, the university’s Vice Chancellor Prof. Muchai Muchiri expressed his delight to host the KIPPRA team led by the Board Chair Dr Linda Musumba, Board Member Dr Phoebe Josiah and the Executive Director Dr Rose Ngugi. Prof. Muchai said it was a privilege for his institution to partner with KIPPRA, adding that the collaboration was off to a good start with the KMPUs rollout and was, therefore, bound to be successful.

While explaining KIPPRA’s mandate, Dr Ngugi said KMPUs was one of the Institute’s recently-developed capacity building initiatives aimed providing students the opportunity to meet with professionals in public policy and interact with policy issues of interest to the Government.

In her speech, Dr Musumba encouraged students to equip themselves with knowledge and skills to enable them participate in governance. She encouraged them to visit the KIPPRA website and those of other government institutions to learn the governance structure and public policy making processes.

The panelists, who comprised students from the participating universities, displayed their knowledge of the Government’s Big Four Agenda as they led discussions in the four agenda items: Food security, affordable housing, manufacturing, and affordable healthcare for all.

Participants included students and lecturers from five universities — Karatina, Muranga, Dedan Kimathi, Kirinyaga and Kenya Methodist University.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *